User Defined Fields

User defined fields can be created on an Account Profile if you need additional fields to the 3 system defined Reference fields. 


Create User Defined Fields

A user field must be created when using the Specify custom task. User fields can also be added and used on the items without being added to a step in the Add Item Workflow. In this case, it will show on the order only or if no Add Item Workflow is created, will show on the Item details in the Driver App.


1) Open Accounts then click on Profiles and open a profile.

2) In the Profile details, scroll down to the User Defined Fields section and click Edit.

3) If user fields were already created, they will show up in the list.

4) Click on Add Field to create a new user defined field.

5) Select the field type:

Order Fields: a user defined field associated to the order, will be viewed in Order Additional Info tab with the system defined Reference fields. 

Order Item Fields: a user field associated to the item or parcel on the order. 

6) Enter an ID (letters, numbers and _ ). This ID must be unique in the Account Profile.

7) Enter the Display Name (EN). The name will show on the Order Additional Info tab for Order Field and in the Items tab for Order Item Field.

8) Display Name (FR) - this can be left blank.

9) Field Type: as in the reference field, the field type can be a free text (can be used for barcode scanning as well as for entering text), Accepted Values (please fill in Accepted Values, 1 item per line), Dropdown. 

10) View on Self-Serve Order: Hidden or Visible depending if you want the account users to see the field.

11) Updatable by Driver: Select if field will be updatable by the driver.
Note: In order for driver to be able to update a user field, the Add, edit, delete parcel must be checked in his driver profile.

12) Click on Save when field information is completed. 


Edit User Defined Fields

User fields can be modified once created. 

1) Open Accounts then click on Profiles and open a profile.

2) In the Profile details, scroll down to the User Defined Fields section and click Edit.

3) Click on the Id of a field to edit

4) Other than the Item Type and ID, the other field information can be edited:

5) Click Save when edit is completed.


Archive User Defined Fields

User Defined Fields cannot be deleted but they can be archived as long as they are not used within a Workflow Task.

1) Open Accounts then click on Profiles and open a profile.

2) In the Profile details, scroll down to the User Defined Fields section and click Edit.

3) Click on theat the end of the User Defined Field to delete.

4) Click Archive to archive the field, Back to return to the list without archiving the field.

If field is used in Workflow Task, an error message will be displayed and the field will not be archived: